Splunk Search

How to Find new users in the last 24 hours and see if they were subsequently added to two groups?

jdtokenring
Engager

Greetings!

I have been googling, pluralsighting, reading splunk docs and I am extremely new to splunk. I did search the community and didnt find something close enough to what I need. So I am asking if anyone here has an idea of how I can find newly created users and then check if there are also any events that would signify those users were added to one of two groups.

So far what I have is not working 🙂 I cant figure out how to take the result set from the first search and fire off a second search (like a foreach) or if i am even thinking about that right. I was thinking using the fields command would do it, I have also tried to use "return" - 

index=wineventlog source="wineventlog:security" eventcode=4720 | fields user_principal_name | search index=wineventlog source="wineventlog:security" eventcode in (4732,4728) "group1" OR "group2"

I don't get errors but i can break the first query up and it works, I am not sure on how to take that result and pass it to the second. Most examples feature lookups and if that is the best way awesome. I am looking for technique tips as well as search construction help.

Thank you in advance!

Labels (4)
Tags (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

bowesmana
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Generally the way to join two or more sets of data together in Splunk is to search for all data that you want to look for and then collapse data according to useful criteria then test results.

What you appear to be looking for here is any users created (4720) and then those users added to groups (4728/4732).

So, what you would do is to look for ANY 4720,4728,4732 and then test that there are both 4720 AND one or other the group additions for that user. So...

index=wineventlog source="wineventlog:security" eventcode in (4720,4732,4728)
| stats values(eventcode) as eventcodes by user_principal_name