Splunk Search

How can I create a table with the currently logged in VPN users?

5plunked
Explorer

Hi,

I wanted to display in a form of a table the current logged in VPN users.

my search command is this

host="" user=* | stats count by user

However, i do not want it to show the count and i want to see the time logged in as well, how can i improve my search to show that?
I am new to Splunk and from what i understand, if I am using openvpn logs i should have the PF-sense app downloaded for the CIM compliant field extractions?
I have downloaded the add-on to my Splunk but have problems understanding how i should be configuring the PF-sense app to support the field extractions for openvpn logs?

Any help would be appreciated! Thank you!

this is something that i would like:

user | ip address | Connected Time

user01 | 192.168.0.80 | 02:50:51

0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi 5plunked,
try something like this

index=your_index host=your_host user=* 
| stats earliest(_time) AS Connected_Time values(IP_Address) AS IP_Address by user

use always index in searches, it's quicker!

Bye.
Giuseppe

5plunked
Explorer

Thank you, this is extremely helpful! 🙂

0 Karma

kunalmao
Communicator

can you run it in verbose mode and show me the available fields if any exist for connected_time and ip_addr in that case just append your search with host="" user=* | stats count by user ip_addr connected_time

also you can try this

host="" user=* | stats count by user _time ip_addr.

Sharing the raw events will actually help in building query

Get Updates on the Splunk Community!

.conf24 | Registration Open!

Hello, hello! I come bearing good news: Registration for .conf24 is now open!   conf is Splunk’s rad annual ...

ICYMI - Check out the latest releases of Splunk Edge Processor

Splunk is pleased to announce the latest enhancements to Splunk Edge Processor.  HEC Receiver authorization ...

Introducing the 2024 SplunkTrust!