Splunk Search

Group results by eval syntax

zsizemore
Path Finder

Hi, i'm trying to group my results from these eval commands

| stats earliest(_time) as first_login latest(_time) as last_login by IP_address User
| eval term=last_login-first_login
| eval term=case(term<86400, "Very Short", term>86400 AND term<(86400*7), "Short", term>(86400*7), "Long")
| stats count dc(User) as usercount values(term) as term by IP_address
| stats sum(usercount) as TotalUsers by term
| iplocation IP_address

this gives me the terms (Very short, short, long) and the Total users for the respective terms.

what i need to do is show the TotalUsers for the three terms -- for their locations around the world..

So for example,

China: Very short - 10 users
Short - 5 users
Long - 1 user

I'm pretty new to Splunk so i'm not completely sure if this is possible, i've been googling and messing around with this the past few days and can't really make any headway.

Any help is appreciated 🙂

Thanks

1 Solution

somesoni2
Revered Legend

Try this

your base search| stats earliest(_time) as first_login latest(_time) as last_login by IP_address User | eval term=last_login-first_login | eval term=case(term<86400, "Very Short", term>86400 AND term<(86400*7), "Short", term>(86400*7), "Long") | chart dc(User) as usercount over IP_address by term | iplocation IP_address | table City "Very Short" Short Long

View solution in original post

woodcock
Esteemed Legend

Add this:

... | stats count AS numUsers BY Country term

somesoni2
Revered Legend

Try this

your base search| stats earliest(_time) as first_login latest(_time) as last_login by IP_address User | eval term=last_login-first_login | eval term=case(term<86400, "Very Short", term>86400 AND term<(86400*7), "Short", term>(86400*7), "Long") | chart dc(User) as usercount over IP_address by term | iplocation IP_address | table City "Very Short" Short Long

zsizemore
Path Finder