Splunk Search

Group many similar fields from datamodel

Justin49
Loves-to-Learn

Hello All,

I have a large dataset "audit.cost_records" wherein I am trying to locate a correlation based on a large number of fields. These fields are large in number (over 1000 total) and many can be grouped (for my current purposes). Some groups may consist of 10+ fields while others may be only 1.

Some example field names are:

ab, ab-HE, ab-SC, ab-LS, rs, rs-SH, rz, xr, xr-FL, xr-SH, xr-SS

in this example, all of the ab items should be grouped, as with rs, and xr.  Unfortunately, I am new to splunk and my understanding of the splunk language is elementary at best. I do have somewhat advanced or at least jorneyman knowledge in SQL and basic in a few programming languages (Java and the like). Unfortunately that doesn't seem to be helping me here.

Based on several hours of searching this community and trial and error I have arrived at the below. I was trying to use wildcards to group by similar field names. I've just read somewhere that Splunk may segment the field based on the '-' character, which makes my wildcard not work as I intend.

| from datamodel:"AUDIT.COST_RECORDS"
| eval Group1=if(match(fieldName,"ab*"), "ABGroup", Group1)
| eval Group1=if(match(fieldnName,"rs*"),"RSGroup",Group1)
| timechart span=30d sum(cost) as Cost by Group1

Does anyone have any recommendations on how to solve this search? My overall intent is to have a year-to-date line chart (spanned monthly) showing cost over time for each "Group".

Labels (2)
0 Karma

PickleRick
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Firstly, if these are all constant sets of fields, you could add calculated field(s) to your datamodel.

Secondly, match() function matches using regex. So, for example, "ab*" means letter a followed by any number of letters b (possibly zero).