Splunk Search

Count and chart two different queries

zebulajams
Explorer

Hey all,

Newbie here learning Splunk. I'm starting to get into dashboards and want to create either a pie chart or just a simple count of how many times a certain string occurs in a log file.

| stats count("no phase found for entry") count("no work order found")

This returns two columns but they both have 0 in them. But if I just search for each string individually or with an OR statement, it returns all entries (which is around 118 combined).

I've been reading through the Splunk Documentation on stats but can't seem to find an answer on how to combine two counts of anything.

Any help is appreciated!

Labels (2)
0 Karma
1 Solution

somesoni2
Revered Legend

Give this a try

Your base search
| stats count(eval(searchmatch("no phase found for entry"))) as count_no_phase count(eval(searchmatch("no work order found"))) as count_no_order

View solution in original post

0 Karma

somesoni2
Revered Legend

Give this a try

Your base search
| stats count(eval(searchmatch("no phase found for entry"))) as count_no_phase count(eval(searchmatch("no work order found"))) as count_no_order
0 Karma

zebulajams
Explorer

That worked, but I think I discovered a fundamental problem with my search.

As I said, I'm really new to Splunk and didn't know I needed a search at the beginning before I did the stats command. What I did was:

"no phase found for entry" OR "no work order found" | stats count(eval(searchmatch("no phase found for entry"))) AS count_no_phase count(eval(searchmatch("no work order found"))) AS count_no_order

Before the pipe command, can I just search for anything? Or does it have to match exactly what I'm looking for in the searchmatch?