Splunk Search

Can we automatically delete searches?

ddrillic
Ultra Champion

A Splunk user told us that after every search they run, they go and delete it, and by doing that, they avoid the quota problems. Not the nicest procedure but it seems to be practical. Is there a way to do it automatically for users who choose to?

Tags (2)
0 Karma

tiagofbmm
Influencer

The timetolive TTL of a job can vary with many things, such as if it is a ad-hoc search, a scheduled search (varies with the frequency it runs), or the alert actions that may come out of the scheduled report, or even if the user is actively viewing a dashboard, or even if it shares the job or saves it!

So as you can see there are many reasons for a job not to be deleted. If you really want to do such thing, you need to point at the endpoint:

curl -k -u admin:pass --request DELETE https://localhost:8089/services/search/jobs/scheduler__nobody_c3BsdW5rX2FyY2hpdmVy__RMD5473cbac83d6c...

0 Karma

tiagofbmm
Influencer

@ddrillic please accept an answer if it solved/helped it and upvote it. Otherwise let us know how can we help further

0 Karma
Got questions? Get answers!

Join the Splunk Community Slack to learn, troubleshoot, and make connections with fellow Splunk practitioners in real time!

Meet up IRL or virtually!

Join Splunk User Groups to connect and learn in-person by region or remotely by topic or industry.

Get Updates on the Splunk Community!

SOC4Kafka - New Kafka Connector Powered by OpenTelemetry

The new SOC4Kafka connector, built on OpenTelemetry, enables the collection of Kafka messages and forwards ...

Event Series: Level up your SOC: Advancing with Splunk Enterprise Security

AI has fundamentally raised the stakes for security operations, and this three-part series is your guide to ...

Announcing Modern Navigation: A New Era of Splunk User Experience

We are excited to introduce the Modern Navigation feature in the Splunk Platform, available to both cloud and ...