Splunk Search

Calculation of availability

wcastillocruz
Path Finder
Hello dear community.
I'm a beginner on Splunk. I would like to have your help today on a project that I am doing. I have to calculate the availability of application services. I have an entry from a database using Splunk DB connect. in these data I receive all the events listed in a DB of a monitoring Tools. I would like to calculate via the timestamp the duration of an incident between the moment when the status is failed and the return to normal. it is difficult because an event can occur several times in the day so I have to find a foreach which will read a line with a severity 2 "critical" and its return to normal for this line with severity 0 "OK" using the timestamp because its return to normal occurs after of course. I don't know if I managed to explain the problematic. thank you for your precious help.

Labels (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @wcastillocruz,

at first, do not use the table command before the transaction command, use it after transaction.

Then try to use quotes in startswith and endswith.

At least, to debug transaction, try the transaction without startswith and endswith and/or without one of the other transaction keys, maybe you have too many conditions and there isn't any results to all your conditions.

Ciao.

Giuseppe

View solution in original post

0 Karma

abhijeet01
Path Finder

Hi wcastillocruz,

I think the filed called node_ref would be help you to find the duration between when the incident triggered and when it closed. This is possible by transaction command.

You need to merge those events which coming along with "node_ref" field but value should be same in all those events where incident occured and then you will get the exact duration.

1. index=xyz node_ref=*
  2. transaction node_ref
  3. | stats values(filed_1) AS "field_1" values(duration) AS "Duration" by node_ref eventcount
  4. | fields - eventcount