Splunk Enterprise

Why am I getting "ERROR sendemail: 1215 'utf8' codec can't decode byte 0x92 in position 29: invalid start byte"?

clorne
Communicator

Hello,

I am quite new to Splunk I am trying to send an email to test this functionality.
I have configured my setting-> server settings-> email settings and had them reviewed by our web administrator.

Here is my search:

..... |sendemail to=blabla@server.com from=blabla@server.com server=outlook.office365.com subject="Here is an email from Splunk" message="This is an example message" sendresults=true inline=true format=raw sendpdf=true

I never received any email and in the python.log file it is written :

ERROR   sendemail:1215 - 'utf8' codec can't decode byte 0x92 in position 29: invalid start byte

Is there a mistake in the data I try to send or in my command syntax?

Thanks for any input.

0 Karma

clorne
Communicator

Hello Millern,
In Settings->server settings-> email settings : I have filled:
Mail host = outlook.office365.com
Username = my own login outlook.office365.com
Password = my password.

Therefore I was expecting that this is my login that is used to connect to the mail server....no ?

I am sure that splunk@outlook.office363.com has is not authorized to connect to the mail server

Regards

0 Karma

millern4
Communicator

Have you been able to generate emails from Splunk before or is this the first time you are trying to do it within a search.

The sendtoemail command assumes you backend configuration is setup and working correctly:

http://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/6.3.0/SearchReference/Sendemail

I did a test on my SH with a very simple search:

index=test sourcetype=test earliest=-1m host=test | sendemail to=millern4@xxxxx@.com

Which generates the following email to me:

Search complete.
If you believe you've received this email in error, please see your Splunk administrator.
splunk > the engine for machine data