Splunk Enterprise

Splunk DB connect: How to fetch logs of few tables from SQL server?

shuksa
Engager

Hello Splunkers !!!

I am new to splunk and I am using splunk enterprises in AWS environment and want to fetch logs of few tables from SQL server, for that i have installed Splunk DB Connect .

My question is what do i need to put in the below:

Configurations > Settings >JRE Installation Path(JAVA_HOME)

if we are using splunk enterprises in the AWS environment, shall we use the JRE path of our local machine , i mean laptop on which we are working else we have use JRE path of aws environment.??

Labels (1)
Tags (2)
0 Karma
1 Solution

PickleRick
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Since the dbconnect components run on your splunk server, you have to install JRE there and point splunk to that directory.

View solution in original post

0 Karma

shuksa
Engager

@PickleRick : Any step by step solutions would be very helpful for me . Although below are the steps i have already performed: Before that i want to tell my environment as: We are using 3 splunk enterprise instances in AWS Cloud environment.

We have total 3 splunk instances as - 1 Search Head, 1 indexer & 1 Heavy Forwarder in the current environment. Our client said they need to integrate PIM-ARCON tool with splunk to get the logs, so as ARCON team said they don't have any option to send data like we do as via udp/tcp data inpuit mechansim /syslog mechanism, so they are transferring data from ARCON to SQL server in a particular table, so i thought, to fetch those logs from that sql server table we need to install Splunk dbconnect. Below are the steps what i have already performed:

1- download and install splunk Dbconnect  app on Heavy forwarder(HF) 

2- After open the splunk dbconnect app i can see it asks for path of jre thats where i stuck

Please advice how and where to install the jre in our HF ? 

0 Karma

PickleRick
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust