Splunk Enterprise

Is there any specific configuration should I add to my router?

rahaf94
Observer

Hello guys,

I am very new to splunk enterprise so please bear with me...

Just want some advice or getting started tips on how can I use splunk in company router for its event analysis.

Is there any specific configuration should I add to my router?

Labels (3)
0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @rahaf94 ,

in addition to the indication from @PickleRick about how to take logs from a router (the input phase), I hint to find in Splunkbase (apps.splunk.com) the Technology Add-On (TA) for the router you're using so you'll have also the parsiong phase alrwady configured and you have only to use the logs you're indexing.

In Splunkbase you could also find an app for your router.

Ciao.

Giuseppe

0 Karma

rahaf94
Observer

I have different devices: 

Cisco Router 

DMZ switch

F5

0 Karma

jotne
Builder

It depends on what router you have and what you like to monitor.

What router do you have?

Tags (1)
0 Karma

rahaf94
Observer

It is Cisco Router 

0 Karma

jotne
Builder

Then Syslog is the way to go.  What that you can send all logs to Splunk.

Splunk can listen on port 514 and get syslog in, but to do that, you need to run Syslog as root.  Not recomended.

Use Rsyslog as a Syslog receiver and send it to Splunk.

See my example on how to setup Splunk as a non-root user and rsyslog here::

https://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?p=888802#p888802

0 Karma

PickleRick
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

It depends on the device you want to ingest logs from.