Splunk Enterprise

How to create an app on SHC

tbenpr

Hello,

I am new to Splunk and I would like to create an app for my dashboards that would be visible on all Search Heads.

Can anyone help?

Labels (1)
0 Karma

isoutamo
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi

There are couple of ways to do it. It depends what are your Company's change management and application delivery policy. Below is shortly what those options can be. Those are not in preferred order. Of course these needs that you have enough rights to do these. Another option is as your Splunk Admin create that app and then you can do dashboards etc. under it.

• Create App first in Deployer and then push it to SHC
    • You can create it with GUI or on filesystem level, but before push it must copied from .../etc/apps/<XYZ> to .../etc/shcluster/apps/<XYZ>
  • Create App in dev environment and then use e.g. git + CI/CD to deploy it to SHC via Deployer.

Anyhow you must create all new apps first in Deployer and then push those to SHC nodes. After that you could do changes directly on SHC (if permitted by your policy) or first in dev node and then push those changes via Deployer to SHC.

https://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/8.2.3/DistSearch/PropagateSHCconfigurationchanges

r. Ismo

0 Karma

tbenpr

Hi,

Thank you for answear. I have few questions more:

During last moths I done some changes on existing apps (other than i want to create). Will push by Deployer overwrite my changes on thoose apps? In directory /etc/shcluster  I still have default apps (clear).
What should i backup to save all my changes?
Would copying the app for one of search heads to etc/shcluster will be good idea?

0 Karma

isoutamo
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust