Security
Highlighted

Is there a way to grant users the capability to create their own apps, but not give them 'Admin' access?

Motivator

Hi,

I wonder whether someone may be able to help me please.

As an administrator, I am looking to provide functionality for users so they can create their own apps. However, I do not want to give them 'Admin' access.

Could someone tell me please, is there a way that I may be able to do this?

Many thanks and kind regards

Chris

0 Karma
Highlighted

Re: Is there a way to grant users the capability to create their own apps, but not give them 'Admin' access?

Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Im not sure about creating an app and installing it.. But generally you can do this, however, you'll need to add a new role and update the roles and capabilities. Mostly like your best bet would be to look at the admin group as a template, and then remove the capabilities that you dont want to give.

http://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/6.3.2/Security/Aboutusersandroles
http://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/6.3.2/Security/Addmanagementaccesstocustomroles

Highlighted

Re: Is there a way to grant users the capability to create their own apps, but not give them 'Admin' access?

Motivator

Hi @esix, many thanks for taking the time to come back to me with this.

Kind Regards

Chris

0 Karma
Highlighted

SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

@esixsplunk, we had played around with this for another use case and the capability needed was adminall_objects which is almost full admin privileges. Could not find any specific capability for app creation unless we missed something.
@IRHM73
Chris, please do let us know if you find something. Thanks

0 Karma
Highlighted

Motivator

Hi @renjith.nair thank you very much for the input.

I will keep you posted should I find anything.

Kind Regards

Chris

0 Karma
Highlighted

SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust