Security

Enabled TLS on web, now I can't log into the site - LDAP issues

Hiattech
Engager

To start with, I am very new to Splunk and I've been stumbling my way through this with varying degrees of success. 

We recently upgraded Splunk from 8.2 to 9.1.2. We noticed the new SSL requirements but went we have a self-signed cert but the website shows as not secure. We wanted to make sure everything was as secure as possible. We created an actual CA Cert chain and redirected the web.conf to the cert along with the key. I had issues with this at first because we weren't using a passphrase on the cert creation but we fixed that and it seems to accept it. Now the webpage seems to load, but it takes an incredibly long time. Once loaded, we should be able to login with LDAP. That's no longer working. I tried the local admin and it thinks for a while and then goes to a "Oops. The server encountered an unexpected condition which prevented it from fulfilling the request. Click here to return to Splunk homepage." page.  This is on the deploy server. 

I changed the server.conf to use the cert as well though that doesn't appear to make a difference. I checked the openldap.conf and added the cert to that but then the page wouldn't load anymore. (doing a splunk restart between each change).  I'm not sure which logs to even look at to find the problem. I have gone through the documentation to setup the TLS which we want to do for interserver communication and for the webpage. the forwarders aren't necessary right now. Can anyone give me a clue what I might be doing wrong?

EDIT: I did discover this error in the splunkd.log relating to my cert. Only post I've found so far says to combine the key and pem into a single file it can use.

message="error:0906D06C:PEM routines:PEM_read_bio:no start line

Here's my config files

server.conf

[general]
serverName = servername.com [changed for privacy reason]
pass4SymmKey =[redacted]

[sslConfig]