Reporting

How do you get a list of unique users for the month?

Adam_Marx
Explorer

A beginner here trying to learn SPLUNK...

I have some daily log files where users can login and out multiple times a day, and I would like to be able to identify the user and how many times they have logged in throughout the month, with maybe the top 15 users listed.

I've tried a couple of things, but I don't seem to be able to get unique user counts correct....

|stats count dc(customer) BY customer, database 
|top limit=15 customer, database

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Tags (1)
0 Karma

mrunals
Path Finder

The other answers are pointing you in the right direction based on the specific wording you used. However, if you wanted to find out how many days someone logged in (ie Fred used the application 10 days in Feb while Mary used the application 23 days) you could do something like this

... | bin span=1d _time | stats dc(_time) as uniqueDays by customer database | sort -uniqueDays 

You could combine both pieces of data with something like

... | bin span=1d _time | stats dc(_time) as uniqueDays count as uniqueLogins by customer database
0 Karma

Adam_Marx
Explorer

My apologies for not making the question as specific as it needed to be for the assist, I'm still trying to learn what the questions are and how to ask them.

mrunals, that is pretty close to what I'm looking for and possibly because my question was asked incorrectly, I'll try to rephrase the question.

Users can login multiple times a day and query the database multiple times a day. So, the users name will appear in the log numerous times in a day sometime up to 50 times, so uniqueness of the user is important but also the number of logins as this would determine the ranking of the users. I'm trying to show how many times in a month/week/year that Fred/Mary/George have logged in and the databases that they have logged into, displaying the top 15 users for each database, by ranking.