Knowledge Management

Bug: Unable to Reassign Knowledge Objects with colons in the name

kaeleyt
Path Finder

Hi fellow Splunkers!

I am an admin for our Splunk Enterprise Environment and when we have users on any of the teams that we support leave their teams or leave the company we try to stay on top of reassigning the knowledge objects that they owned to a current member of that team. We do this from the UI because we run 2 clustered environments with 3 SH's each.We reassign these objects by navigating to Settings > All configurations > Reassign Knowledge Objects

I have come across an issue where I am unable to reassign field extractions with colons in their name.

Examples:

• wineventlog:security : EXTRACT-WindowsSecurityFields
  • source::/var/opt/jfrog/artifactory/logs/request.log : EXTRACT-Action

When I attempt to reassign these I get the following error:

Answers.PNG

Has anyone else run into this? Has anyone found a solution (other than reassigning these from the back end)? Any feedback is appreciated!

Labels (2)
0 Karma

woodcock
Esteemed Legend

This is a known bug but when I opened a support case, splunk closed the case.

0 Karma

kaeleyt
Path Finder

I had a similar thing happen. Mine was closed and I was told to post on Splunk Ideas.

Here's the post in case anyone wants to upvote it:
https://ideas.splunk.com/ideas/EID-I-854

Seems based on one reply that is was supposedly "under investigation" but that was 2 years ago and still seems to be an issue in 9.0.4.

I'm the team member responsible for managing this type of thing for all of the teams who use our enterprise wide Splunk environment but do not have the access/permissions to use a lot of the solutions people are suggesting on this thread so it's still a bit frustrating that we have objects owned by users who left the company 4 years ago.

0 Karma

kaeleyt
Path Finder

UPDATE: I have actually noticed that Data Models can't be reassigned either as they also don't show up here

0 Karma

pamaro