Installation

The minimum free disk space (5000MB) reached for /opt/splunk/var/run/splunk/dispatch.

rajiv_r
Explorer

I am using Splunk trail version and recently received the message "The minimum free disk space (5000MB) reached for /opt/splunk/var/run/splunk/dispatch.". I checked in splunk community and Splunk documents and as per the solution suggested i changed the free disc space to 20000 mb through splunk web. But still receiving the same message. And because of this error the indexing has been stopped and dashboard display no data.

Also made the changes in the main and the audit index by reducing the TSIDX file older than 30 days but still receiving the same message.

Can anyone please help me finding the solution as I am new in Splunk and not very proficient in Admin part. Do I need to increase the Instance size, currently I am using T3 Large(120 GB  ).

requesting every Splunk professional to suggest a solution

Labels (1)
0 Karma

rajiv_r
Explorer

HI  gucsello

i have deleted couple of folder from the dispatch directory. But still the error has not removed. It still showing dispatch directory is full error.

Shall i go ahead and delete each and every folder without any worry. Please suggest as all my dashbaord and reports are not working because of this issue.

Also if you can help me in using the clean dispatch command in a proper way. 

when i am running a command - splunkd clean-dispatch /opt/splunk/var/run/splunk/old-dispatch-jobs/-10d@d  it says splunkd: command not found. where i exactly do i need to run this command. Please guide me to few more step i am close to the solution

0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @rajiv_r,

You didn't reach the maximum disk space for indexing but for dispatching, this meand that the problem is another.

To solve it, you have to:

• stop Splunk;
  • go at /opt/splunk/var/run/splunk/dispatch;
  • delete the older folders;
  • start Splunk

Ciao.

Giuseppe

rajiv_r
Explorer

Thanks for your reply.