Installation

Is it better to send logs directly to Splunk?

toddehb
Engager

Hi, I am new to SIEM products. Does it make sense to sent all logs to Graylog first and from there to eg. Splunk or OSSIN? Or is it better to directly forward logs from the endpoints to SIEM?

Labels (1)
Tags (2)
0 Karma
1 Solution

Simple_Search
Path Finder

Two Cents - Depending on your operating environment, sending logs to a third party processor may be best as this will give you the ability to archive off your logs prior to the ingestion from Splunk in their rawest form (if required). Once data is indexed by Splunk the data cannot be considered pure as it could be modified via the Props/Transform command.

View solution in original post

Tags (1)
0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @toddehb ,

good for you, see next time!

Ciao and happy splunking

Giuseppe

P.S.: Karma Points are appreciated by all the contributors 😉

0 Karma

Simple_Search
Path Finder

Two Cents - Depending on your operating environment, sending logs to a third party processor may be best as this will give you the ability to archive off your logs prior to the ingestion from Splunk in their rawest form (if required). Once data is indexed by Splunk the data cannot be considered pure as it could be modified via the Props/Transform command.

Tags (1)
0 Karma

toddehb
Engager

Thanks for your Input. 

0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @toddehb,

you are asking the innkeeper if the wine is good!

obviously We'll hint to use only Splunk as log management also because Splunk is the leader in SIEM and log management solutions and Greylog not.

In addition, having all logs in Splunk you can use them for your security and visibility searches in Splunk.

The only problem (I don't know the cost of Greylog) is that You pay Splunk license for the volume of indexed logs, so you pay more increasing the indexed logs, and to have a SIEM, you need to buy also a Premium app called Enterprise Security.