Installation

Having trouble with SSL Certificates while trying to integrate Trellix with Splunk

Berfomet96
Explorer

Hello everyone, I hope you guys can help me figure this out since I've been thinking a lot about it since yesterday.

I'm by no means an expert in Splunk. However, I've been tasked with integrating Trellix EDR log files into Splunk. I found an app in the splunkbase site (https://splunkbase.splunk.com/app/6480) that could be the answer to my task. I installed the app in the heavy forwarder as I have done before while integrating Rapid 7 logs and followed the brief guide provided by the author of the guide.

However, this is where the problems start. After I configured input settings, I didn't recieve a single log file. I checked the logs and found out that the problem had something to do with SSL Certificates.

ERROR pid=7210 tid=MainThread file=base_modinput.py:log_error:309 | Error in input_module_trellix_edr_input.get_threats() - line 127 : HTTPSConnectionPool(host='api.soc.us-east-1.mcafee.com', port=443): Max retries exceeded with url: /ft/api/v2/ft/threats?sort=-lastDetected&filter=%7B%22severities%22:%20%5B%22s0%22,%20%22s1%22,%20%22s2%22,%20%22s3%22,%20%22s4%22,%20%22s5%22%5D,%20%22scoreRange%22:%20%5B30%5D%7D&from=1686690509938&limit=10000&skip=0 (Caused by SSLError(SSLCertVerificationError(1, '[SSL: CERTIFICATE_VERIFY_FAILED] certificate verify failed: unable to get local issuer certificate (_ssl.c:1106)')))