Installation

Can anyone suggest a typical Splunk Enterprise implementation for an organization?

thakarpratik
Engager

I am a newbie at Splunk and am splunking, learning my way through the tutorials and practicing, but I want to know would be a typical Splunk implementation infrastructure in a real organization.

Example:
How many servers, how many forwarders, how many indexers, how many search heads?

From how many sources can data come in, what are the servers where Splunk Enterprise needs to be installed, and is this commonly used on Linux or Windows servers?

I would really appreciate any input

Labels (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

skoelpin
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hey @thakarpratik, welcome to Splunk Answers!

This can vary greatly depending on the size of the organization and what you're using it for. We index around 150GB/day and have a few hundred servers that Splunk is installed on. We use all Universal Forwarders to send our data and have 2 separate indexers serving a dev and production Splunk environment. My advice is to start small and find problems that Splunk can solve. Our first big win with Splunk was when we got visibility into why our web service calls we're slow a few hours each day. We then started solving more problems and getting more buy-in. Splunk's pricing model is by how much data you index per day