Getting Data In

Why are manual edits to props.conf not taking effect in Splunk Light?

SKless

Hello guys,

I am new to splunk and I am having troubles in getting my changes to props.conf (from .../Splunk/etc/apps/search/local) to take effect in Splunk. I changed the values to my source type, but they stay like they were before.

I originally created that source type as a step while "adding data" in Splunk, via the "Set Source Type" fields, then I saved the created source type via "save as" under a name in category "Custom".

Then I found my created source type in the props.conf in .../Splunk/etc/apps/search/local and tried to manually edit it via text editor. After that, I restarted Splunk and wanted to add new data using my new (manually edited) source type, but unfortunately, the changes I manually edited did not take effect.

Any ideas please? Thank you in advance guys!

Please note:
- I am using Splunk Light
- I did restart Splunk (log out from Splunk Web session and then restart and login)

0 Karma

dgrubb_splunk
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

I would suggest using the btool to examine the configuration.

./splunk btool props list --debug

This will allow you to see if the configuration changes you are making based on file precedence would take affect.

0 Karma

somesoni2
Revered Legend

You would need to restart Splunk service (not logout and log in in SPlunk web). In windows you can use Run->services.msc and restart splunkd service OR you can use CLI to do that

WIndows:
YourSplunkDirecorty\bin\splunk.exe restart

Linux
YourSplunkDirectory/bin/splunk restart

0 Karma

SKless

Thank you for your answer! I was able to restart Splunk the way you described via CMD in Windows (as Admin).