Getting Data In

Trying to understand the basics.

rboursaw

I am very new to Splunk and am trying to figure out if this will assist us in resolving some of our monitoring needs. My goal is to have a central web interface where I can see information about all of our servers within our customer environments. I am picturing a scenario where there will be a server at each customer site that collects information from all other servers and then a forwarder will send it back to the main Splunk server within my network??? I've been reading a lot of the documentation but am not totally understanding if this can be accomplished with this application. We do not have direct access in to our customer's network, so having something collect the info and then send it back through 443 or something like that to a host within our network would be preferred. Any direction would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Bob

Tags (1)
0 Karma

gnovak
Builder

hi. I can try to describe my environment a bit as I think it may be kind of what you are looking for.

We have 4 main indexers setup using a distributed search. This allows for us to use 1 central splunk server for searching across multiple indexers and use it as our central "console" so to speak.

Let's just say for this example the 4 main indexers are:

New York (Search Head)
Chicago
Texas
Miami

We have the lightweight forwarder setup on all machines in each location where there are logs we want to monitor and index. For example, we have all of our webservers setup to be lightweight forwarders in each location.

On each lightweight forwarder we have a custom inputs.conf file that specifies what files and directories we want to monitor and what the sourcetypes in splunk for these files and directories will be.

for example:

[monitor:///opt/log/.../web_server/web_server.log]
disabled = false
sourcetype = WEB