Getting Data In

Splunk Data Model Data, To combine or to segregate

yh
Explorer

Hello,

I have been working on Splunk for a few months now, and we are using Splunk mainly for Cyber Security monitoring. I am wondering with regards to data model (CIM) should I create separate data model for different zones, or should I combine all in a single data model.

For example, I have 3 different independent network zones, DMZ, Zone A and Zone B. Each of those zones will have multiple indexes linked to it.

Shall I actually use the default data model in CIM, eg datamodel=Authentication with all the indexes in DMZ, ZoneA and ZoneB, or should I make copies of datamodel?

Scenario 1:
If I use a common data model, I will use where source=xxx for example to try to split things out for my queries and dashboarding.

Scenario 2:
If I use a separate data model, I will have, datamodel= DMZ_Authentication, datamodel=ZoneA_Authentication and perhaps use append when I need to see the overall picture?

Still confused on which is the best approach.

Labels (4)
0 Karma
1 Solution

PickleRick
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

OK. There are additional things to consider here.

1. Datamodel is not the same as datamodel accelerated summary. If you just search from a non-accelerated datamodel, the search is "underneath" translated by Splunk to a normal search according to the definition of the dataset you're searching from. So all role-based restrictions apply.

2. As far as I remember (but you'd have to double-check it), even if you search from accelerated summaries, the index-based restrictions should still be in force because the accelerated summaries are stored along with normal event buckets in the index directory and are tied to the indexes themselves.