Getting Data In

Pulling printer logs and reporting via print server

Hiattech
Engager

I have an odd task I'm trying to fulfill and I'm not entirely sure how to go about it. 

We have a print server that forwards logs to Splunk. We also have multiple printers that are on a separate VLAN that only the print server can see. The objective is to see if we can pull the logs directly from the printer and forward them to Splunk. From what I've been reading, this should be possible by setting up the print server as a sort of intermediate forwarder? I believe the process is to have the printers redirect their logs to the print server to a specific folder, then add that folder to the list of logs being reported in the Splunk forwarder. Does that sound correct?

Has anyone done this before? Any instructions that could make this easier? I'm fairly new to Splunk and I'm still learning how to set things up so as many details as possible would be helpful.

Thanks.

Labels (1)
0 Karma

meetmshah
Contributor

Hello @PickleRick the other 4 points you mentioned was of no use, which is why it's not included in the answer.

Couple of points - 

1. The question author have mentioned - " I'm fairly new to Splunk and I'm still learning how to set things up so as many details as possible would be helpful." - Which is why the answer mentions about having everything at one place and monitor it later - which is usual practice.

2. Community answer initiate a "thread" where further discussion can be in place about what and how to achieve the solution

3. The question also mentions "I believe the process is to have the printers redirect their logs to the print server to a specific folder, then add that folder to the list of logs being reported in the Splunk forwarder. Does that sound correct?" - which is the one of the best way to monitor the logs from one place.