Getting Data In

Inputs.conf a CSV File From Universal Forwarder

zekiramhi
Path Finder

I have the test index ready and receiving other API related script outputs. However, I am trying to set up a CSV input towards the same index from a single universal forwarder server. Yet do not have any results coming when the CSV results are searched for.

Path for my inputs.conf : SplunkUniversalForwarder\etc\system\local

I do not have any props.conf or outputs.conf on the specified inputs.conf path, could that be a reason? I am more suspicious of not specifying a "Current Time" Timestamp in the props.conf but I do not know how to accomplish that.

My Current inputs.conf:

[monitor://C:\Users\testuser\Desktop\Splunk_test.csv]
index = test
sourcetype = csv
interval = 300

I am new to assigning monitoring of files, so assistance towards the matter would be very appreciated.

Regards,

0 Karma
1 Solution

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @zekiramhi,

maybe the file was already read and splunk doesn't read twice a file.

To be sure, make these:

change the name of the test file (e.g. Splunk_test1.csv)

modify the inputs.conf in this way:

[monitor://C:\Users\testuser\Desktop\Splunk_test1.csv]
index = test
sourcetype = csv
crcSalt = <SOURCE>

restart Splunk on the universal Forwarder.

In this way you should index the file.

Remember that csv in the only case where props.conf and transforms.conf must be both on Indexer and Universal Forwarder.

Ciao.

Giuseppe

View solution in original post

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @zekiramhi,

maybe the file was already read and splunk doesn't read twice a file.

To be sure, make these:

change the name of the test file (e.g. Splunk_test1.csv)

modify the inputs.conf in this way:

[monitor://C:\Users\testuser\Desktop\Splunk_test1.csv]
index = test
sourcetype = csv
crcSalt = <SOURCE>

restart Splunk on the universal Forwarder.

In this way you should index the file.