Getting Data In

How do I send data from Kiwi syslog to a Splunk indexer on the same server?

tladd1212

I am new to Splunk. I have installed Splunk ES 6.2.3 as an Indexer on a Windows 2008 R2 server. As an initial test, I installed the application and Forwarder App on another Windows 2008 server (which happens to be a Domain Controller). This seems to work fine as I am able to run searches and reports on the events from the remote server. So far so good ...

We have previously deployed Kiwi Syslog Server ver. 9.4.2. This is already collecting events and alerts from all of our network devices and servers. Ideally, I would like to send the data from Kiwi Syslog into Splunk (rather than have every single device forward log information to the Splunk Indexer directly). Now, I installed the Splunk ES on the same Windows 2008 server that is running Kiwi Syslog. Now, if Kiwi Syslog had been on a different server, I guess I would simply set up a Forwarder there. But how do I get the syslog information into Splunk if it resides on the same server? This may seem like a strange question, but remember I'm a newbie 🙂

Any advice or suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Tom

Tags (3)
0 Karma

dougsearcy
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Here is one thought. Can you install a Universal Forwarder on KIWI? If you set up an Input with stanzas for each sourcetype then you can output it to your indexes as needed.

Input: Example only
[monitor:///opt/log/cisco_router1/cisco_ironport_web.log]
sourcetype = cisco
index = web
host = cisco_router1

Output: Example only. these ips are both Indexer IPs
[tcpout:primary_indexers]
server = 10.0.10.2:9997,10.0.10.3:9997

0 Karma

lguinn2
Legend

Best practice: Create a directory to contain the syslog data. Have the Kiwi syslog write to that directory, rotating files regularly. In Splunk, set up a monitor input that tracks the directory. (FYI, it is a local input.) Choose "continuously monitor" rather than "index once."