Getting Data In

Eating Nagios event logs without installing Splunk for Nagios app

grijhwani
Motivator

I have hunted high and low for documentation of appropriate sourcetypes.conf and props.conf stanzas for the Nagios event logs, without installing the SplunkForNagios app. I don't want all the fancy stuff, just to index the event-logs for incident investigation. I have created the index, and now I want to do a one-shot import of an existing log (which I know how to do), but I want the indexing and extraction properties right before I do.

Trouble is, when it comes to understanding props, sourcetypes, and transforms I am a complete novice. My only Splunk experience lies in searches, basic server installation, and log/storage management. Field extraction I can do interactively, after the fact, once I have some sample logs indexed.

I am puzzled because I downloaded and extracted the SplunkForNagios app to dissect it, and there is no indexes.conf, no inputs.conf and no sourcetypes.conf. That really threw me. How the heck is it to determine where to get the logs from or to?

0 Karma

mloven_splunk
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

grijhwani,

I'm not familiar with the Nagios app, but often app developers will leave the index and input creation up to the user rather than assume to know what will work best for each environment. One customer may have all of their data in the main index. Another may split data into multiple indexes.

As such, they don't specify indexes within saved searches or eventtypes. This makes them less efficient, but more likely to match a greater number of users.

As for sourcetypes, what to name sourcetypes is usually subjective. If you aren't using the app, name it what you will, as long as the corresponding props.conf file references the correct name.

Hope that helps!

0 Karma

grijhwani
Motivator