Getting Data In

Correlation Help Log

m92
Loves-to-Learn

Hello Splunkers, I'm new to Splunk and I'm stuck; I'm getting more data than I'm supposed to. Users are showing up when they shouldn't, and vice versa.
The purpose of the query is to determine which users are accessing the bastion with the tag=1 from the "index2" index. However, there's no information on
the users. That's why I'm fetching user data from the "index1" index by performing a join on the IP address.
The ultimate goal is to display the results in the following format: Users - IP - _time. It's important to note that IP addresses are dynamic.

When I run this command, it returns 1000 lines: `index="index2" tag=1 | table srcip, _time`

However, when I run this command, I get a lot more (11000), even though I'm supposed to have the same number since I'm just fetching users from the other
index, but I'm not supposed to have any additional lines:

index="index1" | search Users =* AND IP=*
| fields Users, IP, _time
| where NOT match(Users, "^AAA-[0-9]{5}\$")
| eval IP=if(match(IP, "^::ffff:"), replace(IP, "^::ffff:(\d+\.\d+\.\d+\.\d+)$", "\1"), IP)
| eval ip=IP
| table Users, ip, _time
| join type=inner ip
[ search index="index2" tag=1 | fields srcip, _time | eval ip=srcip | table ip, _time]
| table Users, ip, _time

Does anyone have a solution?

Labels (2)
0 Karma

m92
Loves-to-Learn

Would anyone know how to do it?

0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @m92,

Spunk isn't a database, so avoid to use the join command because it's a very slow command,

in addition you divided your search in three levels adding more slowness,

so try to correlate events using stats BY the correlation key, something like this (to adapt to your use case):

(index="index1" Users =* IP=*) OR (index="index2" tag=1 )
| regex Users!="^AAA-[0-9]{5}\$"
| eval IP=if(match(IP, "^::ffff:"), replace(IP, "^::ffff:(\d+\.\d+\.\d+\.\d+)$", "\1"), IP)
| eval ip=coalesce(IP,srcip)
| stats
     values(Users) AS Users