Getting Data In

Can you help me with search time field extraction using props.conf & transforms.conf?

conan311

Hi splunk gurus,

I am new to Splunk and having some difficulty with a search time field extraction.

This is a sample log I would like to parse. (FIX log)

20181009-14:55:41.450 : 8=FIX.4.29=6435=034=295849=BLAH4252=20181009-14:55:41.44556=BLAH4210=115

Inputs.conf

[default]
host = ..servername..
index = ..blah.. 

[monitor://D:\test\FIX\fix2.log]
sourcetype = test-fix-logs2

transforms.conf

[test1]
REGEX = 8=(?P<tag_8>[^,]*?)\cA
FORMAT = tag_8::$1

[test2]
REGEX = \cA9=(?P<tag_9>[^,]*?)\cA
FORMAT = tag_9::$1

props.conf

[test-fix-logs2]
REPORT-class1 = test1
REPORT-class2 = test2

I have spent a few hours, but I couldn't find what could be potentially wrong as I don't see those two fields ('tag_8' & 'tag_9') in the search result in Splunk Web.

Can anyone please advise?

0 Karma

harsmarvania57
Ultra Champion

Hi @conan311,

You can achieve this extraction on search head with 2 different methods.

• Only with props.conf

You can do below configuration only in props.conf and both fields will be extracted based on your regex.

[test-fix-logs2]
EXTRACT-testing = 8=(?P<tag_8>[^,]*?)\cA9=(?P<tag_9>[^,]*?)\cA
  • Combination of props.conf and transforms.conf

props.conf

[test-fix-logs2]
REPORT-testing = test1,test2

transforms.conf

[test1]
CLEAN_KEYS = 0
REGEX = 8=(?P<tag_8>[^,]*?)\cA

[test2]
CLEAN_KEYS = 0
REGEX = \cA9=(?P<tag_9>[^,]*?)\cA
0 Karma

conan311

@harsmarvania57 , thanks for your answer. It doesn't look like my sourcetype defined in inputs.confg ("test-fix-logs2") gets acknowledged. Can you see what could be wrong?

0 Karma

harsmarvania57
Ultra Champion

Can you please clarify "acknowledged", are you able to see test-fix-logs2 sourcetype in splunk while running the splunk query ?