Deployment Architecture

Splunk Self-signed Certificate Error. Error setting up SSL for TCP data input from file=inputs.conf stanza="SSL"

azer271
Explorer

Hello. Im new at Splunk. Recently, I am trying to create and sign my own TLS certificates, following this official guide. https://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/9.2.1/Security/Howtoself-signcertificates

However, splunkd.log keep on showing this error:

Error setting up SSL for TCP data input from file=inputs.conf stanza="SSL": Can't read key file /opt/splunk/etc/auth/mycerts/myServerCertificate.pem SSL error code=151441516 message="error:0906D06C:PEM routines:PEM_read_bio:no start line"

azer271_1-1715692419191.pngazer271_2-1715692434292.png

First, By following the guide, I created:

private key of root certificate authority certificate, which is myCertAuthPrivateKey.key

CSR for the certificate, which is myCertAuthCertificate.csr

root certificate authority certificate, which is myCertAuthCertificate.pem

Moreover, I created a server certificate and sign them with the root certificate authority certificate.

private key for the server certificate, which is myServerPrivateKey.key

CSR for the server certificate, which is myServerCertificate.csr

Server certificate, which is myServerCertificate.pem

Basically, following the guide, i have 6 files in mycerts folder, and one srl file. This Splunk Master is a master node connects to 3 indexers (clustering). I followed this guide to modify the configuration files, which is the inputs.conf and server.conf i believe.

Ref:

https://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/9.2.1/Security/ConfigureSplunkforwardingtousesignedcert...

6+1 files for certificate.

azer271_0-1715691746708.png

/opt/splunk/etc/system/local/server.conf

[general]
[sslConfig]
sslRootCAPath = /opt/splunk/etc/auth/mycerts/myCertAuthCertificate.pem
sslPassword = mypassword

/opt/splunk/etc/system/local/inputs.conf

[splunktcp-ssl:9997]
disabled=0

[SSL]