I had pushed one app through deployment servers to 4 hosts.
Now we have removed one of the host entries from the serverclass.conf for that particular app, which means that it should delete the app from that host in which it was removed from the serverclass.conf.
But unfortunately, that App didn't get removed from that host. It was only removed after restarting the forwarder.
Do we really need to log on to the forwarders and restart the service to fully remove an app? Is there any other way to do this? Can you please explain?
you can use following property in individual serverclass stanzas for auto restart.
restartSplunkd = true | false
* If true, restarts splunkd on the client when a member app or a directly configured app is updated.
* Can be overridden at the serverClass level and the serverClass:app level.
* Defaults to false
If you are removing client from a Serverclass on Forwarder Management, you need to checkin 'Restart Splunk' option availble on the deployed app and save it. After this, you can reload serverclass on CLI of Deployment server for the changes to take affect. And this will remove the app configuration on the host.