Deployment Architecture

How to set a deployment server between Forwarders and Clustered environment

himaniarora20
Explorer

Hi Team,

We have a search head cluster and indexer cluster in our current Splunk environment.  The data to the indexer earlier was provided by multiple forwarders which had the endpoint for the Indexer. Now, since it is a multi-indexer architecture, we need a common point for the forwarder to point the data

Please provide suggestions on how to set up the forwarders -> Deployment Server ->Cluster master architecture. I came across this one. But confused with the meaning of deployment client 

https://community.splunk.com/t5/Deployment-Architecture/How-to-set-up-new-deployment-server-in-a-clu...

Thanks in advance!

Labels (1)
0 Karma

himaniarora20
Explorer

Thanks for your reply. But I have a few questions since I am new to this.

1. In which server should I add the custom Add on (Forwarder or DS?) We have hundreds of forwarders pointing to the indexer right now. Do we need to change all of them?

2. And since you are saying I shall remove the already existing files in $SPLUNK_HOME/etc/system/local folder, what shall be the contents of the newly added custom add on files?

3. Also, the indexer discovery feature needs to be installed in the DS right? 

0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @himaniarora20,

the best approach is to create a custom add-on (called e.g. TA_Forwarders) containing at least three files:

• app.conf: containing the name and description of the add-on;
  • deploymentclient.conf: containing the address of the Deployment Server;
  • outputs.conf: containing the address of the Indexers.

then you should remove the same conf files from $SPLUNK_HOME/etc/system/local folder in each server.

In this way you can dinamically manage the indexers and Deployment Server addressing from the DS.