Dashboards & Visualizations

Is it possible to map a source and destination IP on a single cluster map?

JackM15
Engager

Hello,

I am trying to use one cluster map to visualize the locations of a user's source and destination IPs for Duo logs. Currently, I have two separate cluster maps for each.

Source IP Address Query:

index="duo" extracted_eventtype=authentication_v2 user.name="$user.name$" access_device.ip!="NULL"
| iplocation access_device.ip
| geostats count by City

Destination IP Address Query:

index="duo" extracted_eventtype=authentication_v2 user.name="$user.name$" auth_device.ip!="NULL"
| iplocation auth_device.ip
| geostats count by City

I'm somewhat new to visualizations and dashboarding, and was hoping for some assistance on writing a combined query that would display both source and destination IPs on a cluster map.

Labels (3)
0 Karma
1 Solution

bowesmana
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

I'm assuming that the src and destination are in the same event, so geostats will not expand multivalue fields, so you will first have to duplicate the events and then do the geostats, like this

index="duo" extracted_eventtype=authentication_v2 user.name="$user.name$" (access_device.ip!="NULL" OR auth_device.ip!="NULL")
| eval ip=mvappend('access_device.ip', 'auth_device.ip')
| fields ip
| mvexpand ip
| iplocation ip
| geostats count by City

View solution in original post

0 Karma

bowesmana
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

I'm assuming that the src and destination are in the same event, so geostats will not expand multivalue fields, so you will first have to duplicate the events and then do the geostats, like this

index="duo" extracted_eventtype=authentication_v2 user.name="$user.name$" (access_device.ip!="NULL" OR auth_device.ip!="NULL")
| eval ip=mvappend('access_device.ip', 'auth_device.ip')
| fields ip
| mvexpand ip
| iplocation ip
| geostats count by City

0 Karma

JackM15
Engager