Dashboards & Visualizations

How to write Splunk search to calculate TPS variance?

shashankk
Communicator

The below query is giving the results for 30 days MaxTPS data. (Between the time range of 2:00 to 4:00)

index=<search_strings> earliest=-30d@d date_hour>=2 AND date_hour<4
| timechart span=120m count(eval(searchmatch("sent"))) as HotCountToday
| eval TPS=round(HotCountToday/(120*60),2)
| eval Day=strftime(_time, "%Y-%m-%d")
| stats max(TPS) as MaxTPS by Day

Now I want to calculate the "MaxTPS Variance" for complete 30 days. Calculate the percentage MaxTPS variance between "Today's value to last week's value" (and so on) and show the MaxTPS variance percentage. (Example: Monday to last week Monday; Sunday to last week Sunday and so on)

I am new to Splunk and still learning. Looking forward to hear from you. Kindly suggest how this can be achieved.

@ITWhisperer @bowesmana @xpac 

Labels (5)
0 Karma
1 Solution

ITWhisperer
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust
index=<search_strings>
| rex "(?<TestMQ>*)"

| timechart span=120m aligntime=earliest count(eval(searchmatch("sent"))) as HotCountToday by TestMQ
| untable _time TestMQ HotCountToday
| eval Day=strftime(_time,"%Y-%m-%d")
| stats max(TPS) as MaxTPS by Day TestMQ
| xyseries Day TestMQ MaxTPS
| streamstats list(*) as * window=8
| foreach *
    [| eval <<FIELD>>=if("<<FIELD>>"="Day",mvindex(Day,-1),if(mvcount('<<FIELD>>')<8,null(),case(mvindex('<<FIELD>>',0)>mvindex('<<FIELD>>',7),round(100*(tonumber(mvindex('<<FIELD>>',0))-tonumber(mvindex('<<FIELD>>',7)))/tonumber(mvindex('<<FIELD>>',0)),2),mvindex('<<FIELD>>',0)<mvindex('<<FIELD>>',7),round(100*(tonumber(mvindex('<<FIELD>>',7))-tonumber(mvindex('<<FIELD>>',0)))/tonumber(mvindex('<<FIELD>>',7)),2),1==1,round(0,2))))]
| transpose 0 column_name=Name header_field=Day

View solution in original post

shashankk
Communicator

Expected Output:

Date columns showing the Variance %