Dashboards & Visualizations

How to get Field Values to appear in Pie Chart?

thisemailwillbe
Explorer

I'm trying to get the number of the field to appear in the pie chart. Currently with the following search and XML change I can get the label and the percentage of the field but would like all three to appear. Here is my search:

index=main source=mylog.log | chart latest(hardDriveUsed) as "Bytes Used" latest(hardDriveFree) as "Bytes Free" | transpose

I also add the following for the percentage in the XML (intentional spaces added between < >):
< option name="charting.chart.showPercent" >true < /option >

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

0 Karma
1 Solution

Graham_Hanningt
Builder

DiscIaimer: I'm no Splunk expert. I was feeling guilty about asking so many questions here, so I thought I'd try to answer some, and I landed on yours. Lucky you! 😉

The trick (kludge) I've used is to append the byte values to the labels:

| makeresults | eval hardDriveUsed=100, hardDriveFree=200 | chart latest(hardDriveUsed) as "Used" latest(hardDriveFree) as "Free" | transpose column_name=Space | rename "row 1" as "Bytes" | eval Space = 'Space'." ".'Bytes'

That is, the eval command replaces the values "Used" and "Free" with "Used 100" and "Free 200", respectively. (Unrealistically small byte values, I know. Sorry, I was in a hurry.)

alt text

I don't blame you if you think this answer is too ugly to accept!

View solution in original post

Graham_Hanningt
Builder

DiscIaimer: I'm no Splunk expert. I was feeling guilty about asking so many questions here, so I thought I'd try to answer some, and I landed on yours. Lucky you! 😉

The trick (kludge) I've used is to append the byte values to the labels:

| makeresults | eval hardDriveUsed=100, hardDriveFree=200 | chart latest(hardDriveUsed) as "Used" latest(hardDriveFree) as "Free" | transpose column_name=Space | rename "row 1" as "Bytes" | eval Space = 'Space'." ".'Bytes'