Splunk Dev

calculate average response time per application

mehulSinghRatho

Hi,
I am a bit new to splunk and query language.
In my logs, i am having "application name", "Request Time stamp" and "Response Time stamp".

Using this, I need get average response time for all my applications.
Please guide.
thanks in advance.

Tags (1)
0 Karma

acharlieh
Influencer

So assuming that all three of those are in the same event, your first step would be to use the eval command to convert the timestamps to epoch time using the strftime() function. You can then take a difference between them to get the duration between the request and the response in seconds. Then you could use stats command to calculate avg(duration) by app.

If however the request time and response time per app appears in different events, then you are likely looking at finagling with the transaction command to stitch the pairs of events together by a request identifier. Assuming your data is being parsed properly and Request time and response time are just _time, transaction would calculate duration for you. Finally stats to get the average by app again.

That's the overall gist, but of course a lot depends on the structure of your data and the field names you have extracted for the details.
(arguably the time between the request and the response is the processing time, as opposed to the time the client started the request to the time the client finished receiving the response.. but again... details)

0 Karma

mehulSinghRatho

totally agreed on your point.

i tried few thing. and stuck at converting the time using strptime() and splunk specified time Format
My Timestamp in logs is - 2018-08-30T07:47:16.127+01:00

I used the following search-

... | eval n=strptime(timeStr, "%Y-%m-%dT%H:%M:%S.%3N%:z")

0 Karma

acharlieh
Influencer

That works fine for me. You can use makeresults and eval to fake results to try things out on. For example: