Splunk Search

Matching String in line of texts in splunk

rakeshyv0807
Explorer

Hi,

I am quite new to splunk platform. Can you please help me out here with my requirement:

I have to write a logic in my query where if I encounter a particular text in the strings of data I need to pass that text as an entry in my table. Please refer to the following example.

I have a line of data like: javax.naming.AuthenticationException: [LDAP: error code 49 - 80090308: LdapErr: DSID-0C09042F, comment: AcceptSecurityContext error, data 52e, v2580

(OR)

javax.naming.AuthenticationException: [LDAP: error code 49 - 80090308: LdapErr: DSID-0C09042F, comment: AcceptSecurityContext error, data 775, v2580

If I encounter data 52e or data 775 in the line of text I need to make an entry in my result table a something like this:

subject error XFF XMSFCIP
xxxxxx data 52e xxxxxxxx xx.xxx.xx.xxx
xxxxxx data 775 xxxxxxxx xx.xxx.xx.xxx
xxxxxx data 775 xxxxxxxx xx.xxx.xxx.xx

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance

Tags (1)
0 Karma

tiagofbmm
Influencer

Hi

Use the strings you are looking for to filter the results, so:

source=yoursource index=yourindex "data 775" OR "data 52e"

Then use rex to extract the error code, like this :

| rex field=_raw "error\scode\s(?<error>\d+)"

( and do the same with the remaining fields I can't understand from your sample, subject, XFF and XMSFCIP)

And finally table everything

| table subject, error, XFF, XMSFCIP
0 Karma

rakeshyv0807
Explorer

Thank you, for your suggestion.

| rex field=errorLDAP "AcceptSecurityContext error,\s(?[^,]+),"

The above worked where errorLDAP holds either (I wrote an eval logic to consume only below string of data) :

javax.naming.AuthenticationException: [LDAP: error code 49 - 80090308: LdapErr: DSID-0C09042F, comment: AcceptSecurityContext error, data 52e, v2580

(OR)