Monitoring Splunk

How do you verify when data is received and locally available for ingestion within a certain time frame?

maryamchar
Explorer

hello,

I'm new to Splunk and trying to find a way to do the following: the time between when something shows up on the file system and when Splunk ingests that file .

So basically, i want a way to see when the data is received and is locally available for ingestion. And then, I want to calculate the time it takes for ingestion and see if it's less than 5 minutes.

I'm using Splunk Query Search only. Please provide me with an easy way to calculate that. Thanks!

Tags (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

Vijeta
Influencer

Usually your date timestamp in logs will be the _time field value in Splunk. And _indextime will be the actual time when data was ingested in Splunk. You can compare _time and _indextime fields and see if the difference is more than 5 minutes.

View solution in original post

0 Karma

marycordova
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust
0 Karma

maryamchar
Explorer

Thank you! Could you please explain the difference between the _time and _indextime. I'm still a little confuse.
I want to find an easy way to know when the data got ingested to Splunk and when did it shows up on the system for searching. Again thank you!

0 Karma

Vijeta
Influencer

Usually your date timestamp in logs will be the _time field value in Splunk. And _indextime will be the actual time when data was ingested in Splunk. You can compare _time and _indextime fields and see if the difference is more than 5 minutes.

0 Karma

maryamchar
Explorer

Thank you! is there another way to monitor when the data got ingested to Splunk (with time) and when it's available for the user ?

I'm trying to find a way when data recieved and is avilable for me for ingestion, and i have to ingest those data within 5 minutes. I'm sorry if my question is unlcear. I found the site below but not sure if it's the right way or not.