All Apps and Add-ons

Why am I unable to get Performance data from Microsoft SCOM 2012?

srinivkris

Hi,

I am new to Splunk. Please need your suggestion on this issue.

Post integration of Microsoft SCOM 2012 with Splunk Cloud (6.5.0), I can see various events being collected except for the "performance" data. According to the log file 'ta_scom', another input named "_Splunk_TA_microsoft_scom_internal_used_Performance' is running". Please suggest, how do I fix the same?

2017-04-17 16:30:00 -04:00 [ log_level=WARN pid=17228 input=_Splunk_TA_microsoft_scom_internal_used_Performance ] Start SCOM TA
2017-04-17 16:30:01 -04:00 [ log_level=WARN pid=17228 input=_Splunk_TA_microsoft_scom_internal_used_Performance ] There is another input named '_Splunk_TA_microsoft_scom_internal_used_Performance' is running. This round just exits
2017-04-17 16:30:01 -04:00 [ log_level=WARN pid=17228 input=_Splunk_TA_microsoft_scom_internal_used_Performance ] End SCOM TA

Thank you.

Regards,
Srini

0 Karma

hmaldonado_splu
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Regarding the TA for SCOM, the inputs need to finish before firing again. The performance input is particularly verbose, as the documentation says to expect up to 20 minutes for the performance input to finish collecting data the first time that it is fired.
https://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/AddOns/latest/MSSCOM/Configureinputs

If any of the inputs for this TA do not finish prior to being called to run again, you will see the error message referenced in the first post of this page. I can say that I have seen the performance input take up to 40 minutes to finish its initial pull of data with subsequent pulls taking up to 20 minutes depending on the amount of data being collected.

Regards,
Hans

0 Karma

dsoni_splunk
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Hi Srini,

I need some more information over here like
How many agents are they collecting data for ?