All Apps and Add-ons

Splunk App for VMware: Why am I receiving an "insufficient access" error when I am an admin?

aniello_cerrato
Path Finder

Hi,

I have installed Splunk Enterprise version and I have added the app VMWare. When I click on VMWare app and I try to configure it (configuration tab) I have the following error:

Insufficient Access
You are trying to modify a page that you do not have access to, please contact your splunk administrator for more assistance.

I am the administrator of windows machine.

Thanks,
Aniello Cerrato

0 Karma
1 Solution

aniello_cerrato
Path Finder

Hi,

I have solved the problem re-installing all app, I have downloaded it directly the .zip and not using install app from splunk.

Thanks,
Aniello

View solution in original post

0 Karma

aniello_cerrato
Path Finder

Hi,

I have solved the problem re-installing all app, I have downloaded it directly the .zip and not using install app from splunk.

Thanks,
Aniello

0 Karma

maraman_splunk
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Hi

just add the same pb !
looking into the app, I found out the following :
- apps require adding splunk_vmware_admin role to your user
- this doesn't work if you edit admin profile and add splunk_vmware_admin as inheritance

So edit user admin and add splunk_vmware_admin role (no need to unlog, just reload the page after)

to debug :
search for index=_internal source="/Applications/splunk643/splunk/var/log/splunk/splunk_for_vmware_setup.log"

to see the offending function :
Splunk_TA_vmware/appserver/controllers/splunk_for_vmware_setup.py
scroll to function def isValidAdmin(user=None, session_key=None):
check is :
if 'splunk_vmware_admin' in roles:

Hope that helps !

aniello_cerrato
Path Finder

The problem is this, I have installed the VMWare application but I haven't WMWare app in my dashboard but I have SA-Threshold app.

When i try to open this app I have the error: