All Apps and Add-ons

How do I install "VersionControl For Splunk" the app and how to trigger the initial backup?

paliwalparitosh
Explorer

Can you write - what steps needs to be taken after adding the app to $SPLUNK_HOME/etc/apps folder?

I installed "VersionControl For Splunk" App.
Added inputs.conf in local directory as well as App.conf and marked it as configured.

When I restarted splunk, the app created empty folders (for all splunk apps) in tempGitRepo and initiated git repo as well
but not pushing any data to remote repo as well. Also, since folders are empty so they are of no use anyways.

PS: I am new to modular inputs.

0 Karma

weili6
Engager

@gjandersHi, a quick question:  what triggers the splunkversioncontrol_backup process to run after the initial whole backup?  Thanks!

0 Karma

weili6
Engager

@gjanders  Yes, Just noticed there is "More settings" checkbox. From there the interval can be set. Wonderful! 

0 Karma

gjanders
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Under the more settings section when you configure the input you can set an interval.

I backup hourly for example.

You can always update the schedule via settings, data inputs 

0 Karma

weili6
Engager

@gjanders  using the app  https://splunkbase.splunk.com/app/4013/, it works perfect.  Thanks. 

0 Karma

gjanders
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

If you are using app Version Control For Splunk as in https://splunkbase.splunk.com/app/4355/ then I would suggest creating your modular input via Settings -> Data Inputs in the Splunk GUI

Validation is built in to the app to ensure the fields are filled out correctly, if not an error is thrown on screen, if that doesn't work the logs are here on Linux:
/opt/splunk/var/log/splunk/splunkversioncontrol_restore.log
/opt/splunk/var/log/splunk/splunkversioncontrol_backup.log

Or the internal index which also has these log files