Alerting

ERROR Missing arguments to operator runshellscript expected at least 10 got 2

multiverse
Engager

Hello,

I'm new at this triggering of alert scripts and have hit my first obstacle.

When this search is manually fired in the Splunk GUI:

index=* sourcetype=df | multikv | eval perc_used=trim(UsePct, "%") | search perc_used >= 80 | runshellscript snow_alert.sh

Gives the following error message:

External search command 'runshellscript' returned error code 1. Script output = "ERROR "Missing arguments to operator 'runshellscript', expected at least 10, got 2." "

The script looks like this:

#! /bin/sh
#
#  ARGUMENTS
#  $0 Script name
#  $1 Number of events returned
#  $2 Search terms
#  $3 Fully qualified query string
#  $4 Name of saved search
#  $5 Trigger reason (for example, "The number of events was greater than 1")
#  $6 Browser URL to view the saved search
#  $8 File in which the results for this search are stored (contains raw results)
/opt/splunk/bin/splunk search "|snow instance=dev action=insert request=incident short_description=\"Alert filed by Splunk.\" work_notes=\"R
esults URL = $6\""

That script is in the correct location on the filesystem and I am able to run it at the CLI.

Example from the CLI:

opt/splunk/bin/splunk search "|snow instance=dev action=insert request=incident short_description=\"Alert filed by Splunk.\" work_notes=\"Results URL = $6\"" >> splunk-testing.log 2>&1

The following error is logged:

"External search command 'runshellscript' returned error code 1. Script output = "ERROR "Missing arguments to operator 'runshellscript', expected at least 10, got 2.""

It is mentioned here:
http://wiki.splunk.com/Community:TroubleshootingAlertScripts

When I execute:

echo "date ARG0='$0' ARG1='$1' ARG2='$2' ARG3='$3' ARG4='$4' ARG5='$5' ARG6='$6' ARG7='$7' ARG8='$8'"

I get:

Tue Jan 22 12:43:32 PST 2013 ARG0='-bash' ARG1='' ARG2='' ARG3='' ARG4='' ARG5='' ARG6='' ARG7='' ARG8=''

What am I doing wrong?

jonuwz
Influencer