Splunk Search

How to edit my regex to extract fields from my sample data?

fmpa_isaac
Path Finder

Hello,

I am trying to build a regex to extract fields from my data below. I am not a programmer so I am not too familiar with building and troubleshooting the expression. I was able to build one with the Splunk regex builder all the way until I got to the Cardholder name which is where I get the following error message:

The extraction failed. If you are extracting multiple fields, try removing one or more fields. Start with extractions that are embedded within longer text strings.

Can someone please assist me with completing the regex for the last two fields I need to extract? Here is what I have so far and the data below it. Thank you

^\s+\w+\s+#\s+(?P<Event>[^ ]+)\s+(?P<Title>\w+\s+\w+\s+\w+)\s+(?P<Date_Event>\d+/\d+/\d+\s+\w+\s+\d+:\d+:\d+)\s+\w+\s+(?P<Access>\w+)\s+\w+\s+\w+\s+(?P<Access_Point>\w+\s+\w+)

-
  EVENT #  175121            LOCAL ACCESS REPORT       2013/01/20 Sun 05:17:37
 ACCESS AUTHORIZED
  ACCESS POINT  LOBBY BACK       SECURITY AREA  EXTERIOR DOO     D001 R02
  CARDHOLDER NAME:  Arntz, Jim
  ACCESS POINT DESCRIPTION: RDR 250-0-2
0 Karma
1 Solution

MuS
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi fmpa_issac,

this should do it:

^\s+\w+\s+#\s+(?P<Event>[^ ]+)\s+(?P<Title>\w+\s+\w+\s+\w+)\s+(?P<Date_Event>\d+\/\d+\/\d+\s+\w+\s+\d+:\d+:\d+)\s+\w+\s+(?P<Access>\w+)\s+\w+\s+\w+\s+(?P<Access_Point>\w+\s+\w+)\s+(?P<where>\w+\s\w+\s+\w+)\s(?P<security_area>\w+\s+\w+\s\w+)\s+\s\w+\s\w+:\s+(?P<Cardholder_name>\w+,\s\w+)\s+\w+\s\w+\s\w+:\s(?P<Access_point_describtion>[^$]+)

The problem was the / which needs to be escaped like this \/

You can test the regex on www.regex101.com

Hope this helps ...

cheers, MuS

View solution in original post

MuS
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi fmpa_issac,

this should do it: