Splunk Search

Comparing Latency from a Subnet to 3 different destinations and output the best option.

rjgreg
Explorer

I am testing network latency from various subnets to 3 different VCenters.  The output gives me 3 results per subnet IP. How do I have Splunk see the values per subnet and output the best of the three options?   I am fairly new to this and the tutorial got me this far.  Any constructive help would be appreciated. Current Search is below.  

index="wineventlog" host="mgmt" source="wineventlog:application" "EventCode=999" "SourceName=NetworkLatencyCheck"

| sort 1 - _time

| mvexpand SubnetSourceLatencyDestinationSiteLocationStatus

| rex Field=SubnetSourceLatencyDestinationSiteLocationStatus  "^(?<Subnet>.*),\$(?<Source>.*),\$(?<Latency>.*),\$(?<Destination>.*),\$(?<Site>.*),\$(?<Location>.*),\$(?<Status>.*)"

| regex Source="(\d{1,3}\.(\d{1,3}\.(\d{1,3}\.(\d{1,3})"

| table Subnet Latency Destination

***Example Output***

Subnet                  Latency          Destination

192.10.10               152.75            a08-vcenter

192.10.10                87                    a05-vcenter

192.10.10                8                      a03-vcenter

192.1.1                    25                     a08-vcenter

192.1.1                   13                      a05-vcenter

192.1.1                   48                      a03-vcenter

Labels (3)
0 Karma
1 Solution

rjgreg
Explorer

@richgalloway   I tried to send this yesterday, but it seems to have been lost in the ether.  The |stats command you gave me didn't output anything in the statistics  view.  I figured out the problem and solved it with the | dedup command you can see in the complete search below.  I added a few fields for the table as well, for tracking.  Thank you for your help.  Not sure I would have found the solution without your help.

index="wineventlog" host="mgmt" source="wineventlog:application" "EventCode=999" "SourceName=NetworkLatencyCheck"
| sort 1 - _time