Reporting

Why are only some events collected in an index when a report runs with the collect command?

syx093
Communicator

I am new to splunk so please forgive me if my terminology is off. I have a report that runs every minute. In the search of that report, I end it with the following command.

|collect index=cactus_summary

This should collect the results from that search and create as an event. Then I should be able to access events from that search. However, when I search for index=cactus_summary I only see only some of those events. For example, if I schedule the report to run every minute and I wait 15 minutes, I should be able to see 15 events when I search for index=cactus_summary. However, I see 5-7 events all occurring at different increments of minutes (e.g. event 1 occurs at 3:30, event 2 occurs at 3.33, event 3 occurs at 3:43).

0 Karma

stephanefotso
Motivator

Hello! I don't know how is your search query, but notice that, schedule the report to run every minutedoes not means, you will get 1 event per minute. Just because,

1. Based on the search criteria, you could have situations where none events are collected into your new index. For example a search like this: index=_internal "error"|collect index=error_index , will send events into error_index, only when the word "error" is found in the _internal index.
  2. The search takes some time to run before provide events, depending of the complexity of your query, and your computer performances. Means, a search can take more than 1 minute to run, before provide the first event.

Thanks

SGF
0 Karma

syx093
Communicator

I looked at my query and I don't think it's excluding events based on events not matching certain criteria. So it must be the performance of the computer. I ran the query and it takes at least 10 seconds to run and I don't think a 10 second search will cause some events not to show. Thanks anyways. I think I will create a dashboard with just the original search and not try to be fancy.