Getting Data In

I am new to Splunk and have a question

knsaunders
Loves-to-Learn

Greetings!  I am new to Splunk and I am trying to learn it so please take it easy on me 🙂

I setup an environment with a Kali VM(This is where Splunk Enterprise is setup), a Windows 10 Enterprise VM and a Windows Server 2019 VM.  I setup the Universal Forwarder on Windows 10 and when I go to Splunk I can see it listed as a "Host", I also setup the Kali VM to send its logs to Splunk and I see it listed as a "Host" as well.  However, the logs coming from the Windows Server 2019(setup as a Domain Controller) are not showing up as a "Host", it seems to be merged in with one of the other "Hosts". It is my understanding that any logs coming in from the Server should show up as a different Host so I should see the Kali VM as a Host, the Windows 10 VM as a Host and the same for Server 2019, however, as I explained, it is not showing up as a Host.

If anybody is willing to help, please let me know what information you would like me to share.

Thank you in advance.

Kirk

Labels (2)
0 Karma

inventsekar
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @knsaunders ... Some more details needed please. You have installed a Splunk system and you installed universal forwarders on 2 other systems. 

Then, on the UF's, did you create inputs.conf and outputs.conf? 

are the UF's able to communicate with splunk indexer well? (ping and telnet works fine from UF to indexer?)

0 Karma

knsaunders
Loves-to-Learn

Thank you for your response!

Yes, I installed Splunk Enterprise on my Kali VM and the Universal Forwarders on Windows 10 Enterprise and Windows Server 2019. I can ping with no problems between all of the machines. For the Kali VM logs, I just installed the "Splunk Add-on for Unix and Linux" app and the logs are being indexed with no problems.

I did edit the inputs.conf and outputs.conf, I can provide a copy of them:

Windows 10 VM

inputs.conf

[default]
host = Windows10Ent