Splunk Dev

Why are our Splunk Python SDK search results empty?

nprasad99
Explorer

Hi,

I'm new to Splunk and don't really know it well so I apologize in advance if this seems like a silly question. I'm using Splunk Python SDK to get the results of a search that should ideally be having plenty of results no matter what the time frame and I used to get results for a while until recently it started to return a string of size 0 bytes. I believe the jobs are getting created and the search goes through, but I still don't get results.

Can someone help me figure out where to look for answers, perhaps?

This is the code snippet:

service = client.connect(
            host=HOST,
            port=PORT,
            username=USERNAME,
            password=PASSWORD)

# Get the collection of search jobs
        jobs = service.jobs

# Create a search job
        job = jobs.create(QUERY)

# Wait for job to be ready
        while not job.is_ready():
            sleeper(.2, "Job not ready")

# Get the results and return them
        rr = job.results(**PARAMS)

result = rr.read(None).decode('utf-8')

Labels (3)
0 Karma
1 Solution

nprasad99
Explorer

Hi,
Update on the error: It turns out that the sdk sets is_ready flag just before it can send the results for some reason. If you wait for a couple of seconds before retrieving the job results, you'll get the data fine. Not sure why this happens though.
Thanks for helping out, @harsmarvania57

View solution in original post

0 Karma

nprasad99
Explorer

Hi,
Update on the error: It turns out that the sdk sets is_ready flag just before it can send the results for some reason. If you wait for a couple of seconds before retrieving the job results, you'll get the data fine. Not sure why this happens though.
Thanks for helping out, @harsmarvania57

0 Karma

pr185153

Hi,