Deployment Architecture

Why does AIX Splunk universal forwarder installation hang after input username?

noobsplunker_
Loves-to-Learn Lots

Hi guys,

This is the first time I'm trying to install splunk universal forwarder (8.2.2.1) on an AIX (7.1) machine.  I have no previous experience with AIX, but have installed many on Linux/Unix machines. The issue I seem to get is when I'm done installing, and splunk prompts for a user/password, the entire process hangs after I've input the username. The only way out is to kill the PID or exit the machine.

Steps taken: 

I have downloaded the tgz file, expanded the tar with: gunzip -c "filename.tar.gz" | tar -xvf, to the /opt folder

Changed ownership with : chown -R splunk:splunk /splunk/splunkforwarder

Switched to splunk user to install : su - splunk

Run on $/SPLUNK_HOME/bin:  ./splunk start --accept license

Select Y

Enter username, and this is where is  stops

Any suggestions would be kindly appreciated 

0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust
0 Karma

noobsplunker_
Loves-to-Learn Lots

Hi @gcusello ,

Thanks for your reply. 

I have followed the AIX installation guide as recommended and deleted off all old splunkforwarder files, starting with a fresh installation . 

After unzipping the file to opt/splunk/$SPLUNK_HOME, 

changing ownership: chown -R splunk:splunk

su - splunk

The process still hangs after running  $SPLUNK_HOME/bin/./splunk enable boot-start, right at the beginning when prompting for the splunk administrator username.

splunk aix.PNG

It did not even get to the prompt below :
This command invokes the following system commands to register the forwarder in the System Resource Controller (SRC):

mkssys -G splunk -s splunkd -p <path to splunkd> -u <splunk user> -a _internal_exec_splunkd -S -n 2 -f 9

Is there any way for me to check logs for any errors or dump files? I am not able to create a diag file via ./splunk diag as splunk is not yet installed