Deployment Architecture

Deployment Server client restarts

hank72
Explorer

Sorry, I have a newbie question.  
I want to add a deployment client to an existing server class that has apps which are triggered to restart splunk after the install. I am ok with restarting the newly added client, but was wondering if that will also restart all of the other existing clients? No changes to the apps for the existing clients.  

Labels (2)
0 Karma
1 Solution

manjunathmeti
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

hi @hank72,

No, it should not restart Splunk on existing clients.

From Splunk documentation: https://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/latest/Updating/Updateconfigurations#When_editing_serve...

After you run reload deploy-server, the deployment server deploys all server classes. That is if any app in any server-class is new or has changed since it was last deployed, the deployment server deploys the latest version to the qualifying clients for that server class. 

If this reply helps you, a like would be appreciated.

P.S. You don't need to run splunk reload deploy-server command if you are adding new client using forwarder management.

 

 

View solution in original post

0 Karma

manjunathmeti
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

hi @hank72,

No, it should not restart Splunk on existing clients.

From Splunk documentation: https://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/latest/Updating/Updateconfigurations#When_editing_serve...

After you run reload deploy-server, the deployment server deploys all server classes. That is if any app in any server-class is new or has changed since it was last deployed, the deployment server deploys the latest version to the qualifying clients for that server class. 

If this reply helps you, a like would be appreciated.

P.S. You don't need to run splunk reload deploy-server command if you are adding new client using forwarder management.

 

 

View solution in original post

0 Karma