Alerting

How to create an alert if log message does not show up within 10 minutes of the "service stopped" log message?

santosh1
Explorer

Hi There,

I have two Application log messages that I receive in Splunk 

1. Service stopped

2. Service Started

I need to create an alert if the "service started" log message does not show up within 10 minutes of the "Service  stopped" log message.

So the alert needs to trigger an email only if it has been more than 10 min since the service stopped an a new log message stating Service started does not show up in the logs.

I am finding some solutions here, but need one that will compare the log messages, I am new to splunk please do share the syntax as I would not know how to work it out without it.

index=* | search app=xxx log="xxx" message="*service stopped/started*"

Labels (4)
0 Karma

santosh1
Explorer

yes, I will be putting the index name, I added * just to give an example.

I will have the log message saying service started and service stopped, it will have some values before and after , but the messages will definitely give the status.

to give you an exact Idea it will be 

1. data service started and process 1.

2.Data service stopped.

these are the two messages exactly.

0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @santosh1,

if in the message field you have the string "service stopped" or the string "service started", you could run something like this:

index=* app=xxx log="xxx" (message="service stopped" OR message="service started")
| message_kind=if(like(message,"%service stopped%"),"service stopped","service stopped")
| stats dc(message_kind) AS dc_message_kind values(message_kind) As message_kind earliest(_time) AS earliest latest(_time) AS latest
| search (dc_message_kind=2 AND latest-earliest>600) OR (dc_message_kind=1 AND message_kind="service stopped")