Splunk Search

too many search jobs in the dispatch directory during e-learning course.

TimEek
Path Finder

Okay, so I'm just starting to learn splunk using the e-learning course. I've done the first two (using splunk, and searching and reporting) and I am about to start the first lab of the third (knowledge objects). But the web environment is giving me a warning about the fact that there are too many jobs. I see alot of options with linux commands or finding the folders, but I'm using a web based splunk on a mac. I'm still quite a novice so if anyone could help me I'd greatly appreciate it.

0 Karma

somesoni2
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

From your Splunk web UI, go to (on the top right menu) Activity -> Jobs, and delete all completed/done jobs. This will also cleanup your dispatch directory in the background. Please note that by default it will select jobs only on the current app context and your userid. Update the dropdowns on the page to delete all the jobs that you want.

jcrabb_splunk
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

great suggestion!

Jacob
Sr. Technical Support Engineer
0 Karma

jcrabb_splunk
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Mac should be able to run the same commands any unix based OS. However, if you are more comfortable with using a file browser, you can manually remove dispatch folder from the dispatch directory. This folder is where the results of searches are stored until they are reaped based on the TTL of the search.

The dispatch folders can be found in the following directory: $SPLUNK_HOME/var/run/splunk/dispatch . You can either delete them all or just the older ones.

There are several well thought out responses to a similar question here: https://answers.splunk.com/answers/29551/too-many-search-jobs-found-in-the-dispatch-directory.html

Hope that helps!

Jacob
0 Karma

TimEek
Path Finder